Windows 7 32-bit or 64-bit? Discuss

Discussion in 'Ask DACS' started by snh, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. snh

    snh Well-Known Member
    Director

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm curious about what experience DACS members have between the bit versions of Win7. It appears at the moment that Win7-64 is cheaper to come by than Win7-32. Is there something wrong with Win7-64 for which members-in-the-know should be aware?

    -s
     
  2. dragonbite

    dragonbite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't think there is a problem with one or the other, rather that the 64 bit is the coming technology and the 32 bit is on its sunset ride. Some version of Windows (the next Server version maybe) is not going to have a 32 bit version even available and Windows 7 may be the last of the 32 bit Windows.

    This isn't a killer, though, when you consider some, if not most or all, Atom chips used in low-powered devices like Netbooks are actually 64 bit chips and some of the older dual-core (when there was only 2 cores available) are 64 bit. So it's been around for a while and fairly modern hardware should not have difficulty running 64 bit OSs.

    Of course, I'm running this off memory so I don't have any citation available.

    Now, 64 bit applications may be a bit different ;) (pun intended)
     
  3. jasetaro

    jasetaro Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not that I've seen, I use Windows 7 x64 alongside OS X on daily basis... It's been bullet proof. Personally, I can't think of reason not to go with Win7 64-bit.
     
  4. snh

    snh Well-Known Member
    Director

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears ColdFusion 9 runs on either 32/64 version of Win7, but ColdFusion Builder (Adobe's version of CFEclipse) only runs on Win7-64 under some 32-bit mode. I'm not sure about the ramifications of such things.
    <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.adobe.com/products/coldfusion/cfbuilder/systemreqs/">http://www.adobe.com/products/coldfusio ... ystemreqs/</a><!-- m -->

    Windows 32-bit on Windows 64-bit (WoW64)
    <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WoW64">http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WoW64</a><!-- m -->

    From this article and other posts I've seen, it appears that running some IDEs or other software with callbacks will still have features like code assist broken, hobbled or otherwise unsupported.
     
  5. dragonbite

    dragonbite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    3
    64-bit Windows can run 32-bit applications, but not the other way around.
     
  6. snh

    snh Well-Known Member
    Director

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good point.

    So, it appears there's no reason to nix a decent laptop/desktop deal simply b/c the bit version of Windows 7 is 64-bit?
     
  7. dragonbite

    dragonbite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    3
    How-to Geek just ran an article on Explaining the difference between 32-bit and 64-bit including a nice Advantages/Dissadvantages listing.

     
  8. snh

    snh Well-Known Member
    Director

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good article!

    The Securable.exe program was a good tip.
     

Share This Page